Skip to content

Meaning Of Number 4 In The Bible

The meaning of the number four in the Bible is that it is symbolic of God’s power. The number four represents a solid foundation, as well as trust and stability. It also represents stability, protection and objects that stand still.

The number four is mentioned in both the Old Testament and New Testament. According to the book of Genesis, there were four rivers flowing from Eden. In Exodus 20:11, we are told that God rested on the seventh day after creating the world in six days; this was a sign that He would give us rest from our labors at the end of time. The fourth commandment forbids us from working on Sunday as an outward sign of our respect for God’s creation (Exodus 20:8-11).

In Matthew 12:38-39, we see that Jesus’ enemies accused Him of being possessed by Beelzebub (Satan) because he healed people on the Sabbath day; but Jesus responded by saying “If they do these things in a green tree, what shall be done in the dry?” This meant that they should expect even greater miracles if they killed him!

Right here on Churchgist, you are privy to a litany of relevant information on University of Findlay financial aid, University of Findlay athletic scholarships, University of Findlay admission requirements, and so much more. Take out time to visit our catalog for more information on similar topics.

Meaning Of Number 4 In The Bible

The Meaning of Numbers: The Number 4
The number 4 derives its Bible meaning from creation. On the fourth day of what is called ‘creation week’ God completed the material universe. On this day he brought into existence our sun, the moon, and all the stars (Genesis 1:14 – 19). Their purpose was not only to give off light, but also to divide the day from the night on earth, thus becoming a basic demarcation of time. They were also made to be a type of signal that would mark off the days, years and seasons (of which there are 4).

Interestingly, the Hebrew word for ‘seasons’ (of which there are 4) in Genesis 1:14 is moed (Strong’s Concordance #H4150), which literally translated is “appointed times” (divine appointments) in reference to God’s festivals. This is the earliest known allusion to what would later be called the Holy (or Feast) days (periods) of worship.

The fourth Commandment God gave to Israel commands we remember and keep God’s holy Sabbath day (Exodus 20:9 – 11). The Sabbath day is tied directly to the creation week. God himself made the period between Friday sunset and Saturday sunset extra special when he rested on it after bringing everything into existence the previous six days (Genesis 2:1 – 3, Exodus 20:11).

Appearances of the number four
One of the top ten most frequently mentioned women in the Bible, Eve, is only referenced four times (Genesis 3:20, 4:1, 2Corinthians 11:3 and 1Timothy 2:13).

Psalm 107 is the only section or chapter in God’s word that contains the exact same phrase 4 times (Psalm 107:8, 15, 21 and 31).

The apostle Paul was a man familiar with 4 major first century cultures. He was a Roman citizen, he was a Jew who spoke Greek as well as Hebrew, and he was a Christian.

The Garden of Eden had a river that parted into the headwaters of four other rivers. These rivers were the Pison, Gihon, Hiddekel and the Euphrates (Genesis 2:10 – 14).

After Jesus was nailed and hung on a cross, Roman soldiers divided his clothes into four parts (one for each soldier – John 19:23).

The 4 witnesses of God on earth are miracles, wonders, signs and the gifts of the Holy Spirit (Hebrews 2).

The number of times rainbows are referenced in scripture are four (Genesis 9, Ezekiel 1, Revelation 4 and 10).

Ezekiel, prophecy and number 4
In Ezekiel’s well-known ‘wheel in the middle of a wheel’ vision (Ezekiel 1, 10) he sees 4 living creatures transporting a throne with four sides and four wheels. Each of the living creatures (likely Cherubim, a class of angels) has four faces (the face of a man, lion, ox and eagle) and four wings (1:6).

Ezekiel, later in his book, is told to proclaim to Israel that an end is coming upon ‘the four corners of the land’ (Ezekiel 7:2). The prophet is told by the Eternal to ask Israel’s unrepentant elders to repent or else four sore judgments will come upon Jerusalem. They are the sword, famine, wild beasts or animals, and pestilence (14:21).

Additional info on Biblical Meaning of 4
The books of Ruth, Jonah, Malachi, Philippians, Colossians and 2Timothy have only 4 chapters.

There are four gospel accounts of Jesus’ life and ministry. Each of these emphasizes a unique aspect of his sacrifice and ministry. Matthew’s focus is on Christ being the son of David and a King. Mark highlights the suffering servant aspect of his ministry. John proclaims Jesus is the One and Only begotten Son of God while Luke presents him as the Perfect Man.

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *