Skip to content

Books of the law in the bible

The Books of the Law in the Bible

The Books of the Law are written records of God’s law and instructions given to Moses by God. There are two main books: the first five books of the Bible and Deuteronomy, which is a book of laws given to Moses after he was on Mount Sinai.

The first five books are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These books were written by Moses. In these books, we learn about how God created the world, how He made people live in it, how he saved them from slavery in Egypt and gave them their own land (Israel), how he told them what they must do to be good citizens (the commandments), and how they should worship Him (the sacrifices).

Deuteronomy is different because it was not written by Moses; rather it was written by Joshua after Moses died at age 120 (Deut 1:1). Joshua wrote this book because he wanted his people to remember what Moses had taught them during their 40 years wandering in the desert before entering Canaan (Josh 1:7-8).

Jewish Bible Books Law History Poetry Prophets Vecor Illustration Cartoon.  Royalty Free SVG, Cliparts, Vectors, And Stock Illustration. Image 34031355.

Books of the law in the bible


Genesis is the first book in the Bible, and it tells of God’s creation of the world, Adam and Eve’s adventure in Paradise, Noah’s ark, all about Abraham and his family. We learn how they came to be in Egypt, how Isaac was born to Rebekah after years of infertility (when they were both elderly), their move back to Canaan — where Abraham dies peacefully at age 175.

The main story arc revolves around a series of conflicts between Lot and his uncle Abram over lands and resources; eventually this leads to a parting of ways when Lot goes off on his own with some followers who later become known as Moabites or Ammonites.

There are also several subplots involving Hagar (Abram’s wife Sarai’s servant) being sent away because she can’t bear children; then their son Ishmael growing up alongside Abram’s son Isaac who lives nearby but doesn’t get along well with Ishmael either because of their youth differences or maybe just because they’re different races? I’m not sure!


The book of Exodus tells the story of a group of slaves who, led by Moses, escaped Egypt and went to live in the Sinai Desert. There, God gave them laws for how to live together as a people without an established government or king. The Ten Commandments were given at Mount Sinai (or Horeb), which means “burning bush” in Hebrew.

The Israelites stayed at Mount Sinai for forty days during which time they received their laws from God through Moses and witnessed ten great miracles: The First Plague; Second Plague; Third Plague; Fourth Plague; Fifth Plague; Sixth Plague; Seventh Plague; Eighth Plague; Ninth Plague and Tenth plague.


Leviticus is a book of the Bible that contains the laws of God, which were to be obeyed by Israelites. It also outlines the rules for sacrifice, and teaches about the holiness and significance of God. The book starts with instructions on how to construct an altar, and ends with a list of words from Moses that are to be read aloud every seven years during feast days.

This book teaches about cleanliness and health as well; if you want to keep yourself healthy, follow these rules!


The book of Numbers is the fourth book in the Old Testament. It contains laws about sacrifices, when Israelites will be allowed to enter the Promised Land and how they should live there. It also contains laws about priesthood and treatment of women, slaves, war and other topics.


It is likely that the book of Deuteronomy was compiled from Moses’ last words. This book contains a history of Israel from the time of the Exodus, detailed laws and regulations, instructions for future generations, and Moses’ death and burial. It also includes blessings for obedience and curses for disobedience.

Deuteronomy begins with an introduction by Moses who discusses God’s dealings with Israel throughout their journey as slaves in Egypt until they arrive at Mount Nebo where he was buried (Deuteronomy 1:1-4).

Moses then recounts his call to become a prophet and how he led God’s people out of Egypt (Deuteronomy 3:7-11). He continues by detailing many events that occurred during this period including various laws given by God to His chosen people (Deuteronomy 5:6-22).

Basic overview of the first five books of the Old Testament.

The Old Testament is a collection of sacred texts or scriptures that are central to the religious traditions of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

The Christian Old Testament contains 39 books divided into three sections. The Hebrew Bible (also called the Jewish Bible) contains 24 books divided into three sections. Finally, Muslims refer to their most holy text as the Qur’an which contains 114 surahs or chapters.

The first five books of the Hebrew Bible are known as the Torah and are also referred to as The Pentateuch or The Five Books of Moses because they were written by Moses who lived around 1200 BCE in Egypt during a time when Israel was enslaved there under Pharaoh Ramses II. These books contain stories about how God led his people out from bondage in Egypt through a series of miracles such as parting an enormous sea so that they could escape safely back across it again later on…

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *