Skip to content
Home » Bible Verses About 7 Deadly Sins

Bible Verses About 7 Deadly Sins

“Bible Verses About 7 Deadly Sins” is a ⁤collection⁢ of biblical passages that address the concept of the seven deadly sins. ​The seven deadly sins, also​ known ‌as the capital vices⁢ or cardinal‌ sins, are a traditional list of vices ⁢that ⁣are ‌considered to lead to further immoral​ behavior and spiritual downfall.

The features of “Bible Verses About 7 Deadly Sins” include:

1. Comprehensive Coverage: This collection presents a wide range of biblical verses⁤ that directly or indirectly touch upon the seven deadly sins. These vices include pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth

The concept of the seven deadly sins has been a longstanding part of Christian tradition, highlighting vices that are believed to be particularly detrimental to the soul. Though the term “seven deadly sins” is not explicitly mentioned in the Bible, various passages address these sinful behaviors and offer guidance on avoiding their pitfalls.

Churchgist will give you all you ask on Unveiling the Seven Deadly Sins in Scripture: A Biblical Perspective, Bible Verses About 7 Deadly Sins, History of the seven deadly sins and so much more.

Unveiling the Seven Deadly Sins in Scripture: A Biblical Perspective

1. Pride (Hubris):

“When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with the humble is wisdom.” – Proverbs 11:2 (ESV)

“The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil. Pride and arrogance and the way of evil and perverted speech I hate.” – Proverbs 8:13 (ESV)

2. Greed (Avarice):

“Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” – Hebrews 13:5 (ESV)

“For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs.” – 1 Timothy 6:10 (ESV)

3. Lust (Lewdness):

“But I say to you that everyone who looks at a woman with lustful intent has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” – Matthew 5:28 (ESV)

“For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride of life—is not from the Father but is from the world.” – 1 John 2:16 (ESV)

4. Envy (Jealousy):

“A tranquil heart gives life to the flesh, but envy makes the bones rot.” – Proverbs 14:30 (ESV)

“For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice.” – James 3:16 (ESV)

5. Gluttony:

“Do not be among drunkards or among gluttonous eaters of meat, for the drunkard and the glutton will come to poverty, and slumber will clothe them with rags.” – Proverbs 23:20-21 (ESV)

6. Wrath (Anger):

“Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God.” – James 1:19-20 (ESV)

7. Sloth (Apathy):

“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with your might, for there is no work or thought or knowledge or wisdom in Sheol, to which you are going.” – Ecclesiastes 9:10 (ESV)

What cures these deadly sins?

The cure for these sins is the gift of a new heart that acts in accordance to the love and law of God. This new heart can only come from God. Ezekiel 36:26-27 says, “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them.” Humanity’s only hope is the miracle of a regenerated heart that acts according to the direction of the Holy Spirit to walk in God’s statutes and judgments.

Power does not come from self to change the heart. On the contrary, this verse clearly points out that God alone gives you a new heart and causes you to walk in His ways. As this event becomes a reality in your life, the seven deadly sins of gluttony, envy, sloth, wrath, pride, lust, and greed will lose their power in your life. With the indwelling Holy Spirit in your life, you will instead desire to live a life based upon the principles of the Bible.

History of the seven deadly sins

The seven deadly sins were first compiled by Pope Gregory I around the year 600. They are pride, greed, lust, wrath, gluttony, envy, and sloth. Gregory also compiled a list of the seven virtues: faith, hope, charity, justice, prudence, temperance, and fortitude. The Bible would validate all of these concepts, but nowhere are they recorded in a list like this and nowhere in the Bible are they specifically referred to as the seven deadly sins or seven virtues. They do not pre-date the Ten Commandments which were given at Mt. Sinai around 1450 B.C. It is probably true that they were used extensively to teach principles from God’s Word, particularly in the centuries before the invention of the printing press when the Bible was not available for the common man to read and study.

Seven deadly sins in the Bible

As mentioned before, the list of seven deadly sins in question does not appear in any Bible verse. However, a slightly different set of sins can be found in Proverbs 6:16-19, “These six things the Lord hates, yes, seven are an abomination to Him:

  1. A proud look,
  2. a lying tongue,
  3. hands that shed innocent blood,
  4. A heart that devises wicked plans,
  5. feet that are swift in running to evil,
  6. A false witness who speaks lies,
  7. and one who sows discord among brethren.”

Additionally, Galatians 5:19-21 mentions several more sins to be on our guard against: “Now the deeds of the flesh are evident, which are: immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmities, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger, disputes, dissensions, factions, envying, drunkenness, carousing, and things like these, of which I forewarn you, just as I have forewarned you, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

This selection of verses from the Bible addresses the themes associated with the seven deadly sins, providing guidance and wisdom on avoiding these detrimental behaviors and embracing virtues that align with God’s will.

Join the conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *